Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Congress Releases First List of 65 Candidates for Telangana Assembly Polls

New Delhi: The Congress on Monday night released its first list of 65 candidates for the December 7 Telangana Assembly polls, with state party chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy to contest from the Huzurnagar constituency.

The list was released after a marathon meeting of the party's Central Election Committee (CEC) chaired by party president Rahul Gandhi. All state Congress leaders were present at the meeting.
The Congress is seeking to upstage K Chandrasekhar Rao-led Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the southern state.

The list was released late at night by congress  General Secretary Mukul Wasnik.

The Congress is seeking to have an electoral understanding on various seats with Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party (TDP), that was an ally of the ruling NDA, had walked out of the ruling alliance some time past over the issue of the Centre not granting special standing to Andhra Pradesh.
Naidu is now meeting various opposition leaders and is seeking to be a part of a united front of various parties to defeat the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

No comments:

Post a Comment